Joy Cowley and Ulf Stark Shortlisted for the 2018 Hans Christian Andersen Awards


The shortlist for the 2018 Hans Christian Andersen Award – the world’s most prestigious children’s book award – has been announced:

France: Marie-Aude Murail
Iran: Farhad Hassanzadeh
Japan: Eiko Kadono
New Zealand: Joy Cowley 
Sweden: Ulf Stark

Argentina: Pablo Bernasconi
Austria: Linda Wolfsgruber
China: Xiong Liang
Poland: Iwona Chmielewska
Russia: Igor Oleynikov
Switzerland: Albertine

The Hans Christian Andersen Award is the highest international recognition given to an author and an illustrator of children’s books. Given every other year by IBBY, the Hans Christian Andersen Awards recognize lifelong achievement and are presented to an author and an illustrator whose complete works have made an important, lasting contribution to children’s literature. IBBY

Joy Cowley was also made a member of the New Zealand Order of Merit a few weeks ago.

Curiously Good Offer

In the delight of this of this we are offering 10% of all Joy Cowely And Ulf Stark books for a period of time,

Titles from Joy Cowely

Snake and Lizard anniversary edition Joy Cowley Gavin Bishop Gecko Press Helper and Helper by Gecko Press cover   Road to Ratenburg by Joy Cowley   The Bakehouse book, Joy Cowley, novel for kids,   Speed of Light book, Joy Cowley, novel for kids, New Zealand kids book   The fierce little woman and the wicked pirate book, Joy Cowley, Sarah Davis, picture book for kids Dunger book, Joy Cowley, novel for kids   Stories of the wild west gang book, Joy Cowley, Trevor Pye, collection of stories for kids,  

Titles From Ulf Stark

Can you whistle Johanna? book, Ulf Stark, Anna Hoglund, chapter book for kids, adventure story    When Dad showed me the universe book, Ulf Stark, Eva Eriksson, picture book for kids