An award-winning Hippopotamus!

Juliette MacIver and Sarah Davis have won the Picture Book Award at the 2017 NZ Book Awards for Children and Young Adults, with That’s Not a Hippopotamus!

The judges described the book as: “From the opening rhyme to the closing line, this story is a flawless tale of a school trip gone awry. The quiet kid reigns supreme in the hippo-hunting stakes, despite the loud-mouths leading the pack. The story has been rhymed innovatively and the illustrations are diverse, three-dimensional, and interesting. The teacher is especially hilarious, as she gradually loses control.”

That’s Not a Hippopotamus!

A class trip to the zoo descends into a chaotic hunt for the missing hippopotamus. Teacher,  zookeeper and all the children join the search. The noise and drama reach a pitch, and no one thinks to listen to quiet Liam, who really might know where the hippo is hiding.

That’s Not a Hippopotamus! is packed with word play and madcap energy – and with a whole different story to enjoy in the illustrations.

The authors

The pair’s previous collaboration Toucan Can! was shortlisted in the NZ Post Book Awards for Children 2014.

Author Juliette MacIver is a picture-book writer and mother of four, who lives in Wellington, New Zealand. Her popular books include Marmaduke Duck and Yak and Gnu.

Illustrator Sarah Davis began illustrating picture books in 2008 and has illustrated more than 30 books. She is one of New Zealand and Australia’s leading illustrators with a wide portfolio of award-winning books in both countries. She has won and been shortlisted for numerous awards in Australia and New Zealand, including the 2009 Children’s Book Council of Australia’s Crichton Award for Best New Illustrator for her first picture book.

The New Zealand Book Awards for Children and Young Adults

These awards celebrate the contribution New Zealand’s children’s authors and illustrators to building national identity and cultural heritage.

Awards in the New Zealand Book Awards for Children and Young Adults are made in six categories: Young Adult Fiction (the Copyright Licensing NZ Award), Junior Fiction (the Esther Glen Award), Non-Fiction (the Elsie Locke Award), Picture Book, Illustration (the Russell Clark Award) and Te Kura Pounamu Award (for books entirely written in te reo Māori). The awards are judged by a panel of five.

For more information on the book, including a look inside, visit the book page.

For review copies and any questions, contact us.